RIP – Ron Santo (1940-2010)

My heart just ached this morning with the sad news of Ron Santo’s death.

I smiled, however, remembering how many times Santo made me laugh, and by how excited he would get during the broadcasts.

Santo was never a Hall of Famer by broadcasting standards, but his credentials as a player are certainly worthy, despite the writers’ refusal to elect him.

It’s a damn shame that if he does get enshrined he won’t be here to accept the honor, which is an awful injustice that falls squarly on the shoulders of the voting baseball writers and Veterans committee who failed to vote him in on 19 occasions.

I feel for Pat Huges, too, who worked in the broadcast booth with Santo since 1996. I can’t imagine the sadness he’ll feel in the booth during the coming seasons without Ron by his side.

In honor of Ron I’m posting his retired No.10 jersey in my sidebar throughout the 2011 season. I hope the Cubs do something similar, and believe they will, by honoring Santo with a sleeve patch on the Cubs jerseys for the 2011 campaign.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cubs Blog

Your thoughts?

